Bring back the Musician.

29 Aug

Monday! Really? Already?

The weekend was a blitz. I did the Grouse Grind Saturday. For those interested, the Grind is a hike, 3 km long and 3 km high, up Grouse Mountain. The hike includes 2,850 steps. Not one step goes down. The whole way up, you are stepping up, carrying your own weight all 2,850 steps. It was the first of the year for me, and it was great! I finished in 1:21. Not bad, but I think I can cut it down to 1 hour.

But anyway, that’s not what the title’s about. Today I want to write about music. I love music, but please bring back the musician. Whatever happened to those musicians who spent their life discovering their sound? The musicians who didn’t settle for what was on the surface, but laboured and strove to find the purity of music? What happened to those musicians who dedicated their lives mastering their craft?

I’m so sick of turning the radio on and hearing some stupid drum machine on an endless synthetic loop. Its fake. Its false. Its plastic. Its shallow.

Please bring back the true musicians. Please bring back the true artists.

Leave a Reply

