What kind of people would we be?

19 Sep

I had an interesting thought the other day. I’ve recently been evaluating my own stand on conviction and questioning whether I fall in line with past baptists, or if I even want to be named with this particular group. For someone who didn’t grow up in North America, and wasn’t inundated with Baptist creeds and traditions, this whole process of worship seems very disturbing, and obscure. I’m not like other Christians who were “baptist born, baptist bread, and when I die, I’ll be baptist dead!”. I’m an outsider. I wasn’t born in North America. So, no, I don’t remember the “good ol’ days” when there was prayer in schools. I don’t remember the good ol’ camp meetings and revivals. I have no idea what the sawdust trail looks like. That’s why I find it so difficult to understand as to why we promote certain activities with such reverance, only to commemorate a time that fewer and fewer people are connecting to.

For example: Old Fashioned Sundays. I realize the theme is to get back to the faith of the fathers. But, aren’t Pastors realizing some people don’t even know who those fathers are? I mean, yes, thank God for men like Lester Roloff, and other renown baptist men in our recent past, but, really, who are these guys? And should we raise them up to the point of Sainthood? And really, our spiritual heritage ought ot come from the men who walked with Christ. Not some preacher from the south who yells and screams and bounces up and down the aisle.

So here comes my question: Imagine a man who has no spiritual heritage, no previous encounter with Baptists or any other denomination. If he were to read the Word of God in its entirety, would he draw the same conclusions of worship, as we would as “grown” baptists? Would he listen to the same music? Would he have the same prejudices as some of us have (i.e. interracial marriage)? Would he be more compassionate and less divisive? Is it possible for him to be right with God, even though he doesn’t reflect Baptist Ideals?

Well, I’ve pondered the answer to that question. At the end, I find myself envious of that man. He would be lead purely by God’s Word. He would completely rely on the Holy Spirit to help make decisions, and not driven by guilt from other sources. He would be free to live as a Christian, as he finds it in God’s Word. He doesn’t have to follow ridiculous rules like ties and white shirts and parted haircuts. He doesn’t have to measure up to man’s ideals. He would live freely, by God’s Word.

2 Responses to “What kind of people would we be?”

  1. Survivor September 20, 2011 at 9:32 am #

    Could I recommend that you re-think your feelings about Lester Roloff?:

    http://baptisttaliban.blogspot.com/2011/09/lester-roloff-roloff-starts-his-radio.html#comments

    “Some of the so called “friends” they were “helping” were not only members to some of both Mac and Lester’s “supporting” churches but also members of the Ku Klux Klan. Hearsay? Try this for firsthand… I know about the dirty business deals and “home for children” scams because those “friends”, kidnappers, Klan members and abusers, were all related through blood and marriage to my biological father. Lester and Mac were personal friends with them. They received “support from them as well.”

    “I have been fed bars of soap, forced to kneel on objects designed to elicit pain for hours, paddled with items as diverse as a cutting board and a canoe paddle…and I have had all these things done to me while LESTER ROLOFF WATCHED. Other than the specifics mentioned above, he did not actively participate in these deeds (done to ME, anyway), but he saw them being done with his own eyes and never spoke a word of rebuke to his staff, which is the same as condoning it.”

    • Vancouver Juls September 20, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

      In that case, I am glad that it is not the character of men that defines baptist ideals, but our obedience to the Word of God. I think that for a very long time in America, baptists have placed their faith on the shoulders of men. We forget at times the “great men, were men at best”. I am sorry for the hardships you have endured at the hands of evil men.

Leave a Reply

