Monday Drag. Next Reading in Hosea.

24 Oct

How appropriate that my reading this morning was in Hosea 10 and 11. I say appropriate because we spent the weekend with our friends at the hospital, as they cared for their newborn child. My friend said something that hit me. He said, “I knew my dad loved me, but I never understood how much, until now.”

Wow.

In Hosea 10, God takes the first person dialogue and calls Ephraim and Israel and Judah His children. He really reaches down and gets really personal with His people. Not only did they have this amazing honour to be God’s people, but God chose to extend His personal Love to them. I love my nephews and nieces, but that is not the same love as a father to his children. We are not just some distant relative of God. We are His children, and He is our Father.

While the chapters were mainly negative, I did find hope and encouragement in this truth I found today.

Leave a Reply

