Back from the Fog.

14 Nov

Its been a while since I’ve written anything substantial. There was too much of life going on for me to sit down and type out my reflections. I’ve strayed from what my original purpose of this blog was: which is to record my reflections as a late 20-somethings. Lately I’ve used it as a soap box, for that I need to say sorry for myself. I feel a need to get back to the purpose of this blog. Since no one is reading this (except all those spam bots who keep leaving me messages), it’s high time to get personal again.

Today, its windy. It’s like God said, “It’s time to get rid of the leaves”. The orange, yellow, and red leaves are blowing in the wind, just barely hanging on. Some, are not so lucky. They are carried by the wind. Hmmmm. Carried by the wind. Sometimes, when I have problems, or worries, I feel like a leaf in the wind. The wind just keeps howling, and I’m just hanging on by a thin, frail stem. But what’s a leaf against the mighty wind? Insignificant, powerless, weightless. But, I’ve found that trees only make music when there’s wind howling against the leaves.

In the same way, I feel like God is only glorified through my trials. Which I’m finding more and more is not true. God doesn’t take pleasure in the suffering of His children, just as a father doesn’t enjoy seeing his own child suffer. But God is pleased in the victory, the lesson learned, the gold that is refined. The older I get, the closer I get to understanding the heart of God. I’ll never fully understand the capacity, the height, the breadth, the width of His Love, but, I believe that through our trials, we see glimpses of that Love.

Leave a Reply

