Courage, Robert

18 Jan

I’m not very musical, in the sense that I have a horrible voice. But I actually know it, and admit it, so I’m not those annoying people that keep singing and singing and you’re like, “Somebody tell that guy HE CAN’T SING!” I have issues with tune – I can’t carry one. Also, I tend to be flat, and also have this amazing gift of being able to switch from key to key in any given moment of any given song. Its a curse – because I love music. I love how music can change your mood. I love how it can define exactly what you’re feeling. I love how music can put into words my hurts, my joys, even my essence — Okay, too much. I believe music plays a great role in our lives. I really feel like its the language of our souls, because, music doesn’t know  boundaries or race. It communicates with who we are inside. That’s why I find it hard to listen to shallow, meaningless, un-musical, music of today’s generation. But that’s another post. There are songs that I listen to that transcend notes, musicality, tone, tune, rhythm, and rhyme. Songs that you don’t judge for the quality of how its written, or even the process by which it came about, but songs that speak to your heart. I’ll have some days when all I want to do is listen to music. Today, I’m listening to easily one of my favourite artists: Meg and Dia. Before you judge me, no I am not a teenage girl with rebellion issues manifesting itself in punk girl rock. Actually, judge all you want. All I know is that their song Courage, Robert speaks to me more than the words written therein, more than the wizardry of Meg’s and Carlo’s guitar showdown, more than the translation of one the greatest love stories in music history in Robert and Clara Schumann’s life. The sum of these parts is a song that speaks to my soul. And that is what music is suppose to do. It is suppose to move you, leave you with an undeniable impression, reach you in a way that no person can.

Leave a Reply

